ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

EEA Family Permit - Overstayed in UK in the past

Use this section for any queries concerning the EU Settlement Scheme, for applicants holding pre-settled and settled status.

Moderators: Casa, push, JAJ, ca.funke, Amber, zimba, vinny, Obie, EUsmileWEallsmile, batleykhan, meself2, geriatrix, John, ChetanOjha, archigabe

mixme
Newly Registered

EEA Family Permit - Overstayed in UK in the past

Post by mixme » Thu Mar 25, 2010 11:43 pm

Hello there

I would appreciate if I can get some advice.

I am currently in Portugal married to a Portuguese citizen who works in the UK and I hold a valid Portuguese residence card ( married for 16 months).

A bit of history.

I studied in the UK, but my student visa wasn't renewed because I worked for more than 20 hours

My appeal failed in Nov 2007, and I left the UK Sept 2008. No exit checks, not forms.

I got married to my husband in 2008 and have lived in Portugal since April 2009. My husband and visits a lot and calls a lot (we have all the proof)

In July 2009, I applied for a visiting visa to see my husband as we'd suffered a bereavement but was turned down due to 'insufficient finances' and the fact that I 'may' have breached immigration rules in the past.

My husband is employed, he has been in the UK for over 3 years and recently rented a double room in a shared house to accomodate me.

I now want to apply for an EEA permit (VAF5) and my question is, do I declare on the form that I overstayed 8 months? My passport doesn't show that i overstayed. Can they tell that I overstayed? The form itself doesn't ask for this information but there is a section to declare anything else. Thanks

Any input is most welcome.

John

Post by John » Fri Mar 26, 2010 6:59 am