ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

Permanent residence after 13 years?

Use this section for any queries concerning the EU Settlement Scheme, for applicants holding pre-settled and settled status.

Moderators: Casa, push, JAJ, ca.funke, Amber, zimba, vinny, Obie, EUsmileWEallsmile, batleykhan, meself2, geriatrix, John, ChetanOjha, archigabe

psot2
Newly Registered

Permanent residence after 13 years?

Post by psot2 » Sat Dec 03, 2016 6:49 pm

Hello,

I came to the UK as an EU national when I was 13. I studied for my GCSEs and A-levels in this country before going to uni. I've been resident in the UK since then, going to uni again after 2 years and being employed in between.

I never had any health insurance as a student, so I didn't exercise treaty rights as a student. I have two questions.

In order to be eligible for permanent residence:
1) Would I have needed health insurance as a student under the age of 18?
2) Would it matter if I exercised treaty rights for 5 continuous years if it hasn't been in the last 5 years?

I'm very worried that I'd have to leave this country after brexit, this is my home and I have nowhere else to go realistically, considering that all my qualifications are specific to the UK. Surely they couldn't just throw the EU citizens out after such a long time of residence just because of a loophole about "treaty rights".

Edit: I tried to apply for permanent residence after giving them my addresses for the past 5 years. It was rejected because I was a student 2 years ago without health insurance.

noajthan

Re: Permanent residence after 13 years?

Post by noajthan » Sat Dec 03, 2016 9:04 pm

psot2 wrote:Hello,