ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

PR: Initial period as jobseeker

Use this section for any queries concerning the EU Settlement Scheme, for applicants holding pre-settled and settled status.

Moderators: Casa, push, JAJ, ca.funke, Amber, zimba, vinny, Obie, EUsmileWEallsmile, batleykhan, meself2, geriatrix, John, ChetanOjha, archigabe

jmmo20

PR: Initial period as jobseeker

Post by jmmo20 » Mon Feb 06, 2017 10:36 pm

Hi,

I have an unusual question regarding qualifying periods for my PR certificate application.

I entered the UK in 2011. For the first 12 months I was seeking for jobs. I hold a PhD in medical research - during those 12 months I had a few (6+) interviews but it was a slow process. I have proof of applications, interviews, rejections. Even when I finally engaged with my current employer it took a fair amount of time from application in Sept, to 1st interview in October, second interview in Nov, 3rd in December, and Job offer early January. I have been employed ever since with the same company (4+ years by now).

During my jobseeker period I used my own savings, and did not seek any benefits whatsoever from the UK govt. I made the conscious decision not to burden the UK with my unemployment so I didn't register at the job centre nor applied for JSA.

Obviously I had reasonable chance to find employment - it simply was a bit tough at the time.

Now how likely am I to be accepted if I claim those 12 months as jobseeker?
I checked with an immigration attorney and they said reasonable but then asked for £1000 pounds to do the paperwork for me :) and since I intend to apply for naturalisation I thought it was quite the expense.

cheers!

noajthan

Re: PR: Initial period as jobseeker

Post by noajthan » Tue Feb 07, 2017 12:44 am