ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

Qualified Person

Use this section for any queries concerning the EU Settlement Scheme, for applicants holding pre-settled and settled status.

Moderators: Casa, push, JAJ, ca.funke, Amber, zimba, vinny, Obie, EUsmileWEallsmile, batleykhan, meself2, geriatrix, John, ChetanOjha, archigabe

alxhix
Newly Registered

Qualified Person

Post by alxhix » Fri Jan 13, 2017 9:49 am

I asked a load of questions that came about as trying to understand how claiming DLA for my son would impact my own status; and was directed to this board for some of them. I hope you can help me untangle the web of confusion. This is why I'm not a lawyer!

So my wife is EEA (German); although born in South Africa. I'm here on an Ancestry Visa; which will lead to ILR and then nationalisation. We were planning on nationalising my wife after 5 years; and the kids (twins, 8 yo) at the same time. They currently travel on German passports (childrens passports)but haven't been registered with German authorities so aren't EEA despite the statement in the passport that they are.

Since my wife doesn't work, it has been suggested I get their status as "qualified persons". Had to look that up - and I understand we need to be self sufficient (which she is based on my income) and have CSI - which we will get, via the BUPA scheme my company offers. The Government website, gov.uk directs me to a form called "Application for a registration certificate as a qualified person EEA(QP)". Is that what I need to fill in and apply for? What does it entitle her to, or is it just a good to have when the UK exits from the EU? Does it help with the applications for ILR/PR later on?