ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

Chances of finding a job if one is not authorised to work

Employers looking for workers, people looking for employers: Get connected here.

Moderators: Casa, push, JAJ, ca.funke, Amber, zimba, vinny, Obie, EUsmileWEallsmile, batleykhan, meself2, geriatrix, John, ChetanOjha, archigabe, Administrator

verityrose
Newly Registered

Chances of finding a job if one is not authorised to work

Post by verityrose » Fri Dec 17, 2010 10:20 am

Hi all,

I really need your advice.
I studied in London for 4 years and then worked for a UK firm for 1.5 years afterwards. I was on a student visa, then PSW. My company wanted me to stay and tried applying for a sponsorship licence but was rejected, hence I had to leave earlier this year otherwise I would have been here illegally.
I want to continue working in London, but since I don't have ANY visa how can i get a job here? Are employers willing to even interview me knowing they have to apply for a work permit for me? Most jobs require you to already be authorised to live and work here before applying. I've been advised that by agencies and employers. i've read other posts that some others have been successful, but I suppose they are of an executive level and their expertise would be more of a bargaining tool.
Please if you have any comments or thoughts at all would be really helpful.
Thank you.

Thanks.

kenfrapin

Post by kenfrapin » Fri Dec 17, 2010 11:01 am

Sorry but there is nothing that can be done. If you dont have the right to work here on your own, which means a Tier 1 Visa or related, then neither can you attend most interviews nor can you get a confirmed job offer.