ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

Drug offences & US immigration

USA immigration, green card questions:
Employment based Green Cards | H-1B visas | Family based Visas | Citizenship

Moderators: Casa, push, JAJ, ca.funke, Amber, zimba, vinny, Obie, EUsmileWEallsmile, batleykhan, meself2, geriatrix, John, ChetanOjha, archigabe, Administrator

Archibald_Shagnasty
Newly Registered

Drug offences & US immigration

Post by Archibald_Shagnasty » Thu Apr 03, 2014 9:19 am

At some point a few weeks back, someone on here was asking about a drug caution and whether it should be declared on an American immigration application. I am an American attorney and took it upon myself to correct one of the moderators on this board who incorrectly advised that a drug caution needn't be declared.

My point was twofold.
1. While a caution is not an arrest in the UK, as there is no corollary in the US, a caution should always be declared so long as the it is within the relevant time period of the question. The same goes for spent offences. The US does not recognise that things can be "spent" in the way the UK does. So long as the question does not limit as to time (i.e. "within the last seven years") cautions and spent offences should always be declared on American visa applications. Best not to hide things and reasonably explain them away.

If you're found making a false statement, even if it's an hones mistake, you can be permanently barred and undoing that can be expensive and time-consuming!

2. I also noted at some point, in rebutting this moderator that regardless of the nature of the offence ALL drug offences should be listed. And case in point, we have Nigella's little story:

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article ... light.html