ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

URGENT: English requirement for Tier 2 (General) visa

Only for the UK Skilled Worker visas, formerly known as Tier 2 visa route

Moderators: Casa, push, JAJ, ca.funke, Amber, zimba, vinny, Obie, EUsmileWEallsmile, batleykhan, meself2, geriatrix, John, ChetanOjha, archigabe

ukvisat2

URGENT: English requirement for Tier 2 (General) visa

Post by ukvisat2 » Tue Aug 26, 2014 7:20 pm

I have earned a PhD from University of Vienna in 2012 and the UKBA points-based calculator shows zero point for PhD qualification. My PhD award was taught and researched in English and I have a letter from my PhD supervisor as an evidence of it.

I had made a query about English requirement on the UK Visas and Immigration International inquiry service (https://ukvi-international.faq-help.com/) and their response is as follows;

"With regard to your query, please be explained that your current award would be sufficient for English language requirement for Tier 2 (general) visa if your PhD award is recognized by UK NARIC."

The statement given in the UKBA guidelines (https://www.gov.uk/government/uploads/s ... _08-14.pdf) that made me confuse

"140. If you are applying under Tier 2 (General) or Tier 2 (Minister of Religion), you can only score points for your degree being taught in English where it was taught in one of the countries listed above or you can find your degree on the English language section of the points-based calculator."

Would the statement of comparability from UK NARIC be sufficient for English requirement? Or do I still need to pass ILETS exam?

Thanks in advance!

Amber
Mood:

Re: URGENT: English requirement for Tier 2 (General) visa

Post by Amber » Tue Aug 26, 2014 11:29 pm