ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

Visiting UK ILR

General UK immigration & work permits; don't post job search or family related topics!

Please use this section of the board if there is no specific section for your query.

Moderators: Casa, push, JAJ, ca.funke, Amber, zimba, vinny, Obie, EUsmileWEallsmile, batleykhan, meself2, geriatrix, John, ChetanOjha, archigabe, Administrator

rthaker
Newly Registered

Visiting UK ILR

Post by rthaker » Tue Feb 09, 2016 6:28 pm

I have ILR since OCT 2014 and I have been working in USA since July 2015. I am still outside 2 year boundation limit. I am travelling to India via UK towards end of month. I have halt of 12 hours at heathrow london and I am planning to enter UK for about 10 hours, I suppose there should be no issues. But lately I have seen they ask, where you have been? and how long you have been away?..sort of things. I wonder why they ask so and what shall be appropriate response.
I am assuming they might also ask why I am here for just 8 hours.
However, I will be staying for about 10 days in London while return journey from India to US in march.
My question: shall there be any cause of concern for these short visits and do they have powers to not let me in or other problems due to actual residence in US since there rules keep changing.

Eventually I will return to UK permanently, but just for an additional year or so I will be in US.
thanks for you responses in advance.

cs95tdg
Diamond Member

Re: Visiting UK ILR

Post by cs95tdg » Tue Feb 09, 2016 8:05 pm

rthaker wrote:But lately I have seen they ask, where you have been? and how long you have been away?..sort of things. I wonder why they ask so and what shall be appropriate response.