ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

International PhD student - DES in question.

Only for UK Student Visas, formerly known as Tier 4 (General) student visa

Moderators: Casa, push, JAJ, ca.funke, Amber, zimba, vinny, Obie, EUsmileWEallsmile, batleykhan, meself2, geriatrix, John, ChetanOjha, archigabe

MJ34567
Newly Registered

International PhD student - DES in question.

Post by MJ34567 » Tue Mar 15, 2016 11:31 am

Hello,

I am an international PhD student who is in his fourth year. I was informed just a month ago that if I didn't finish my doctorate in 4 years time then I will not be able to apply for the Doctorate Extension Scheme which is equivalent to a one year Post study work visa.

PhD work is highly rigorous and extensive in nature and I strongly feel that informing a fourth year international PhD student about such a deadline is unfair. If me and my supervisor knew about such a deadline, we would have approached the research project differently. In fact, my supervisor kept asking me to look at more literature etc. because she wanted my thesis to be of great quality and while she was doing that, I could have objected and stated that we are running out of time so we cannot possibly take such a route. Moreover, she has taken a lot of time on occasions to provide feedback on the drafts submitted; sometimes, two months, a month a half and on several occasions, almost a month.

Anyway, I will still do my best to finish my PhD by November this year but in case, I didn't, I will lose out on the opportunity to find work, plus, I would have to submit my thesis to the university from my home country and then give my viva probably via a Skype video call or God knows how so please kindly advise.