ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

Accommodation in a non-declared rented flat

Only for UK Student Visas, formerly known as Tier 4 (General) student visa

Moderators: Casa, push, JAJ, ca.funke, Amber, zimba, vinny, Obie, EUsmileWEallsmile, batleykhan, meself2, geriatrix, John, ChetanOjha, archigabe

I4505
Newly Registered

Accommodation in a non-declared rented flat

Post by I4505 » Sun Sep 04, 2016 1:06 pm

Hi,

I am a PhD student who's considering bringing in his partner to the UK. I am currently renting a room in a host family house. I have been told lately that "nobody knows that I'm here" by the landlord, meaning that I'm not declared. But when I asked him if he is willing to help me to accommodate and invite my partner to his house he responded positively.

My question - does an invitation letter (a letter from the landlord stating that she is welcome and has place in the house with me) sufficient in Tier 4 dependant visa application ? if not, what document do I need ?

Thanks.

Casa

Re: Accommodation in a non-declared rented flat

Post by Casa » Sun Sep 04, 2016 3:07 pm

Yes, a letter agreeing to your wife living in the accommodation is required, but the comment that 'no one knows you are there' raises concern.

Are you sure the landlord isn't actually a tenant, possible of a local authority (Council) property? If so, HO checks may well uncover that he isn't the legal landlord and is sub-letting.

You need to delve more into the reasoning behind his reluctance to be open about you living in the household.
(Casa, not CR001)
Please don't send me PMs asking for immigration advice on posts that are on the open forum. If I haven't responded there, it's because I don't have the answer. I'm a moderator, not a legal professional.

sah10406