ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

Tier 1 General to ILR - Q on NARIC and university letter

Only for queries regarding Indefinite Leave to Remain (ILR). Please use the EU Settlement Scheme forum for queries about settled status under Appendix EU

Moderators: Casa, push, JAJ, ca.funke, Amber, zimba, vinny, Obie, EUsmileWEallsmile, batleykhan, meself2, geriatrix, John, ChetanOjha, archigabe

taurean
Newly Registered

Tier 1 General to ILR - Q on NARIC and university letter

Post by taurean » Mon Oct 10, 2016 2:50 pm

Hi,

I am a Tier 1 General migrant and was first awarded the Tier 1 visa in 2009. I am currently applying for ILR for self and wife (Tier 1 Dependant since 2009).

I have a Masters degree from IIT Madras and my wife has a Masters degree from Mahatma Gandhi University (Kerala). Both courses were taught in English and neither of us had to write any english language test for our Tier 1 extensions (as the points based table always accepted my degree and awarded points).

We are now applying for ILR in December 2016.

Having gone through the forms and the posts on the website I understand that at the time of ILR application , to prove knowledge of English, we would need to do the following:

1. I would need to use NARIC's Visas and Nationality service to obtain a letter from them confirming the equivalent level of my degree (£120 fees).
2. My wife would also need to use NARIC's Visas and Nationality service to obtain a letter from them confirming the equivalent level of her degree (£120 fees).

Can you please confirm if my understanding is correct? Also is it mandatory to produce a letter from our respective universities (besides the NARIC letter) confirming that the course was taught in English? (we have never had to do this in the past).