ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

Tier 4 student went over the 20h work limit once

Only for UK Student Visas, formerly known as Tier 4 (General) student visa

Moderators: Casa, push, JAJ, ca.funke, Amber, zimba, vinny, Obie, EUsmileWEallsmile, batleykhan, meself2, geriatrix, John, ChetanOjha, archigabe

wheremypantsat
Newly Registered

Tier 4 student went over the 20h work limit once

Post by wheremypantsat » Tue Nov 22, 2016 10:15 pm

Hello everyone,

I am a non-EU undergraduate student on a Tier 4 for an exchange year in the UK. I started working one month ago at a pub with irregular working days / hours, I was aware the visa only allowed for a maximum of 20 hours per week of work during term time but I assumed the "week" was defined as Monday through Sunday - it was stupid not to check better before, but my manager confirmed as far as the pub is concerned that's how the week is defined. Now I know for the visa a "week" is any running 7 days.

Now here is the thing. I looked back and I went over the 20 hours only once - to be exact I did 20 hours and 32 minutes. It so happens that 1 of those hours happened on the last of those 7 days after midnight. So, from Saturday to Friday I worked 20h32min IF they consider the one hour after midnight as part of Friday (I mean I worked from 00:00 to 01:00 of Saturday).

Should I be concerned? Should I contact UKVI? I'm wondering if I actually need to worry considering (1) this only happened once¹, (2) it only went over the limit by 32 minutes and (3) technically I went over the limit after the seventh day was over.

¹ I definitely will pay close attention from now on that I don't go over by even one minute.

P.S.: I just sent my National Insurance number application by post today. Will they check my payslips?