ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

My experience in the UK

This is an area for the discussion of matters related to issues about moving from one country to another. Examples could be about money transfer, moving and packing, validity of driving licence, etc..

It is not a general non-immigration, free-for-all area.

Moderators: Casa, push, JAJ, ca.funke, Amber, zimba, vinny, Obie, EUsmileWEallsmile, batleykhan, meself2, geriatrix, John, ChetanOjha, archigabe

chromatisity
Newly Registered

My experience in the UK

Post by chromatisity » Thu Jan 05, 2017 11:13 pm

Here is briefly my experience in the UK so far.

I am a fairly successful software developer from Bulgaria.
Made good money back home, could save money, afford to eat in a restaurant with my wife daily and
my rent was 10-15% of my paycheck.

It's a well known fact that there isn't enough developers in the software industry.
That spawned a lot of recruiters searching for devs all around the globe.
I had a job offers from several recruiters to work for software companies in the London area.

From listening to so many British people cry on TV how foreigners abused their
system for benefits, i had mixed feelings about coming to the UK.
I had the wrong impression about UK benefits.
I didn't want to be in a place where i would feel not welcome.
What changed my mind was the logic that basically i would pay
my fair share of taxes and there was no reason for me to feel bad.

I accepted the offer, which was the biggest mistake of my life, we will
get to that point later.
Basically coming here amazed me how complicated it was
for a European to actually live, which should not be the case
for a Eu country.