ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

Failed to Report Changes to the Police

Only for UK Student Visas, formerly known as Tier 4 (General) student visa

Moderators: Casa, push, JAJ, ca.funke, Amber, zimba, vinny, Obie, EUsmileWEallsmile, batleykhan, meself2, geriatrix, John, ChetanOjha, archigabe

I4505
Newly Registered

Failed to Report Changes to the Police

Post by I4505 » Tue Jan 17, 2017 9:35 pm

I am little panicked because I discovered just yesterday that I failed to report many things to the police. When I arrived here, I studied at a Pre-university School, and as far as I remember, the school and the police officer that came to the school to register us, told us to report to the police about any changes of adresse. I am not sure if they mentioned anything about other changes. I had a different tier 4 visa than the one I have now, a different passport, and I was single (now married).

Now, I changed my adresse and brought my tier 4 dependent, I went to the website to book an appointment for here to register for the first time, and for me to report the change of the address. Then, I read that I should also report about any changes in the visa, the marital statue or the passport (also find out it is written at the back of the police certificate). I made all these changes, some of them two years ago, but because I did not know at the time, I didn't tell the police. I read also that there is a fine of 5,000£ if you fail to report them within 7 days!

I booked an appointment for the 25th of January (next week) to update the police about these changes. But I am worried that they will not take it as a honest mistake and that there will be consequences. What do you suggest I do?

Thanks

sah10406
Diamond Member

Re: Failed to Report Changes to the Police