ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

Exceeding 5-year visa cap

Only for UK Student Visas, formerly known as Tier 4 (General) student visa

Moderators: Casa, push, JAJ, ca.funke, Amber, zimba, vinny, Obie, EUsmileWEallsmile, batleykhan, meself2, geriatrix, John, ChetanOjha, archigabe

CogitoErgoSum
Newly Registered

Exceeding 5-year visa cap

Post by CogitoErgoSum » Fri Jan 27, 2017 12:26 am

I have a rather urgent concern about the 5-year cap for Tier 4 visas and was hoping someone might be able to provide me with some guidance or advice based on my situation.

Essentially, I began my studies in the UK at the undergrad level in September of 2012. I studied for one year, began my second year, and in the first few months of my second year decided to switch courses. That process was a muddled one, and I ended up having my visa curtailed for the rest of the academic year. Eventually, I started on my new course (which is a three year course), however, due to serious illness I did not sit a final exam and was required to resit before the start of the 2nd academic year. I did, but did not pass the exam. Consequently, I had to take the year out and my visa has still not been curtailed.

I understand the above details are rather convoluted, but essentially I will need to apply for a new Tier 4 visa to resume my course (I have two years remaining), however, I'm very worried that I will not be granted the visa because that will put my immigration history at 5 years and 9 months, give or take.