ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

EEA (QP) student- Questions

Use this section for any queries concerning the EU Settlement Scheme, for applicants holding pre-settled and settled status.

Moderators: Casa, push, JAJ, ca.funke, Amber, zimba, vinny, Obie, EUsmileWEallsmile, batleykhan, meself2, geriatrix, John, ChetanOjha, archigabe

rumoto
Newly Registered

EEA (QP) student- Questions

Post by rumoto » Tue Jan 31, 2017 9:54 am

Hello everyone,

I am an EU student and I am going to start my PhD in UK on the 20th of February, during the next 3,5 years. I entered in the UK just after Christmas.

I am interested to obtain the EEA (QP) certificate to assure my position before Brexit happens, but I am not sure if it could be necessary to assure that.

If you recommend me to do that procedure, I have some questions about this process.

Is it possible to send the application before starting the course officially? Or is not possible because you must send documents only available after the course registration? I said this because there are rumours that the UK could use the article 50 date as a cutoff for new arrivals; in that case, the available time in order to complete my application could be quite tight if I couldn't send it before the 20th of February.

Is it possible to use the online application in my case? I say that because students reliant on a family member for financial support don't have the right to use the online procedure. My situation is that I have a non-UK account and also another UK bank account; my parents (who live outside the UK) send me money to that account outside the UK, and I pay the normal living expenses with that card, but at the end of the month I transfer the remaining money to my English account.