ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

Work Permit Dependant Visa - job search

Family member & Ancestry immigration; don't post other immigration categories, please!
Marriage | Unmarried Partners | Fiancé/e | Ancestry

Moderators: Casa, push, JAJ, ca.funke, Amber, zimba, vinny, Obie, EUsmileWEallsmile, batleykhan, meself2, geriatrix, John, ChetanOjha, archigabe, Administrator

dd_2004
Newly Registered

Work Permit Dependant Visa - job search

Post by dd_2004 » Tue May 04, 2004 3:20 pm

Hello there,

I am posting in this forum hoping for some advice on how to tackle this particular issue.

I have been working as a work permit holder for 3 yrs 3 months in the UK in leeds. My wife successfully got a work permit dependant visa and joined me 3 months ago.

She's recently started job hunting...however she is having problems getting job offers inspite of having more than 3 years of work ex in a managerial position in India.

The problem seems to be the fact that she doesn't have a National Insurance number and/or she has been in the UK for just 3 months and/or 'cuz she is a work permit dependant visa holder. She is going for interviews and is successful in the interviews, however, at the last moment
when they get to know about her immigration status, she is being told that she cannot be offered a job!

This is inspite of the fact that there are no restrictions to her working in the uk...

We are at a loss how to get across this issue and would appreciate any advice on how to tackle the problem.

Thanks and Regards,
dd_2004

Cosmopol
Member of Standing

Post by Cosmopol » Tue May 04, 2004 4:23 pm

It's unfair... I also wonder if it's legal to refuse a job solely on the basis of status :?