ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

ILR refused - Need your help!

General UK immigration & work permits; don't post job search or family related topics!

Please use this section of the board if there is no specific section for your query.

Moderators: Casa, push, JAJ, ca.funke, Amber, zimba, vinny, Obie, EUsmileWEallsmile, batleykhan, meself2, geriatrix, John, ChetanOjha, archigabe, Administrator

divineperson
Newly Registered

ILR refused - Need your help!

Post by divineperson » Mon Apr 20, 2009 8:48 pm

Hello Everyone!

I am a 28 year old Indian woman currently residing in the UK. I arrived over here on August 2003 on a student visa. I studied a professional course as a full time student in a recognised university in UK. Ever since then I've been extending my student visa on a yearly basis until August 2008 when I completed five years. Since I had completed 5 years of stay in UK I applied for ILR in SET (0) "other" category. On 5th April 2009 I received a letter from the home office which stated that my ILR has been refused. The letter stated that since I've been residing in UK as a student I am not eligible for a settlement visa. I have the following queries:-

1.I had applied for ILR before expiration of my Student Visa [which was on August 2008]. I have overstayed here since my application was refused. At this point of time what would be better - to appeal against refusal of my ILR application Or to apply for a student visa extension on the grounds I've been granted full time admission in a college?