ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

FORM FLR_M- extension as spouse

Family member & Ancestry immigration; don't post other immigration categories, please!
Marriage | Unmarried Partners | Fiancé/e | Ancestry

Moderators: Casa, push, JAJ, ca.funke, Amber, zimba, vinny, Obie, EUsmileWEallsmile, batleykhan, meself2, geriatrix, John, ChetanOjha, archigabe, Administrator

soysauce
Newly Registered

FORM FLR_M- extension as spouse

Post by soysauce » Wed Jan 11, 2006 2:32 pm

hi
i am a postgrad student and currently holding a student visa that expires on 30 Aug 2006. I got married in Sep 2005 and i'd like to extend my visa under the category as a spouse of a person present and settled in the UK.
Is the form FLR_M correct in my circumstance?
I am thinking of applying in person within 2 weeks. I just have a couple of queries i wonder if anyone could help:
1. My husband earns £20,000 a year and as a student i am only allowed 20 hours a week to work therefore my earnings is only enough to cover the rent and basic stuff. How can i prove that it is enough for us to live on?
2. As my visa runs out at the end of Aug so if i apply in person at the end of Jan would there be enough time?
3. What are the main documents i need to prepare?

Thank you very much.
Ann

John

Post by John » Tue Jan 17, 2006 10:10 pm

Ann, sorry about the delay .... just spotted this.

The form FLR(M) is indeed the correct form to use to make the application.

Using your numbering :-
  1. That should be OK. And do appreciate that when you have your spouse visa the 20 hours per week limit will no longer apply to you. The holder of a spouse visa can work as unlimited number of hours.