ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

EU Unmarried partner situation

Family member & Ancestry immigration; don't post other immigration categories, please!
Marriage | Unmarried Partners | Fiancé/e | Ancestry

Moderators: Casa, push, JAJ, ca.funke, Amber, zimba, vinny, Obie, EUsmileWEallsmile, batleykhan, meself2, geriatrix, John, ChetanOjha, archigabe, Administrator

dpap
Newly Registered

EU Unmarried partner situation

Post by dpap » Thu Jun 03, 2004 12:36 pm

Dear All,

I am Hungarian, and my unmarried partner is Kenyan, and an International student. We have been together for 3 and half years, and lived together for almost 3 years now. We would like to stay together in the UK as this has been our home for a long time. I work in retail and my partner who has just finished her studies, has worked part time her field of Finance throughout her course.

My history is:

1. I came into the country with an Aupair visa and worked as an Aupair for the first three years while studying English
2. At the beginning of last year, I changed my status to International student
3. From November last year, I have been working the allowed 21 max. hrs as a student
4. We both have evidence of being able to support ourselves without the need for public funds

Now that we have joined the EU, and my partner has finished her studies, we would like to both work in a full time basis.
I am aware that I will be needing to fill in forms EEC1 and EEC2 for Residence and Leave to remain respectively before I can add any of my family to my application. However, the difficulty I am having is that one of the criteria is I would have needed to have been working for the past 4 years constantly.