ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

RIGHT OF STAY AFTER INITIATION OF DIVORCE TO EEA MEMBER

Use this section for any queries concerning the EU Settlement Scheme, for applicants holding pre-settled and settled status.

Moderators: Casa, push, JAJ, ca.funke, Amber, zimba, vinny, Obie, EUsmileWEallsmile, batleykhan, meself2, geriatrix, John, ChetanOjha, archigabe

kira18
Newly Registered

RIGHT OF STAY AFTER INITIATION OF DIVORCE TO EEA MEMBER

Post by kira18 » Fri Aug 23, 2013 1:12 pm

Hi All,

I honestly thank the founders of this website, which has helped me many times when I am lost without help. Now I am in need of some advice for my friend who is not forum savvy, and also thinks I am an expert...:)

Anyways this is the issue!!!

I am inquiring on behalf of my friend living in the UK. Here's is his brief immigration history: He came to study in the UK 2006, successfully completed his maters degree and had been working in the UK ever since. He switched to Post study work visa after his education.

During his student years he fell in love with this girl from France who was also studying in the same university. They moved in together and started living together since 1 march 2009, and eventually got married 9 October 2010. They own a flat together which they bought after the wedding.

As to the french girls details, she is working in the UK as a EU member, and now became a permanent resident of UK(ILR).

My friend who was on his post study work visa, switched to a spouse visa, under her EEA status (although he qualified for Tier 1 general then, he mistakenly took this route).

She now wants a divorce out of the blue, no specific reason, and has moved out of the house and she had mailed the divorce initiation letter from her solicitor 22 August.