ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

Can Permanent Resident status be revoked after divorce?

USA immigration, green card questions:
Employment based Green Cards | H-1B visas | Family based Visas | Citizenship

Moderators: Casa, push, JAJ, ca.funke, Amber, zimba, vinny, Obie, EUsmileWEallsmile, batleykhan, meself2, geriatrix, John, ChetanOjha, archigabe, Administrator

englishmaninca
Newly Registered

Can Permanent Resident status be revoked after divorce?

Post by englishmaninca » Sun Sep 09, 2012 12:12 am

I wonder if anyone can advise me here. I'm an Unconditional Permanent Resident (Green Card holder) via marriage to a US citizen, and I'm getting divorced from my wife of almost 8 years.

Although I've tried to keep things civil, she has implied multiple times that she will be trying to get me deported once we're divorced, saying that the marriage was solely for the green card, which is completely untrue. My mother-in-law has also gotten involved, saying that she wishes to revoke her sponsorship of my Permanent Resident status. As far as I can remember, she didn't have to 'sponsor' me during the process - only verify some of my wife's documentation.

I have a couple of questions:

1. I thought that once my Conditional Permanent Resident status was changed to simply Permanent Resident status, after 3 years, that my status is no longer dependent on my being married to a US Citizen - is this correct?

2. Under what circumstances would it be possible for my Permanent Resident status to be revoked as a result of my divorce?

3. Is there anything I can do to protect my Permanent Resident status?

It's upsetting to have my entire life and livelihood that I've established in this country threatened like this, so I'd appreciate any insights/advice you can share.