ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

Academic progression - Query

Only for UK Student Visas, formerly known as Tier 4 (General) student visa

Moderators: Casa, push, JAJ, ca.funke, Amber, zimba, vinny, Obie, EUsmileWEallsmile, batleykhan, meself2, geriatrix, John, ChetanOjha, archigabe

carolinatri
Newly Registered

Academic progression - Query

Post by carolinatri » Fri Dec 05, 2014 10:00 pm

Hi,

In 2009-2010 I completed a Master in International Development, for which I had a Tier 4 Student visa.
Now I'm planning to do a Master in Art History (career change) starting September 2015, for which I will also need to apply for a Tier 4 visa.

Could you please advise on the academic progression requirement: Given that I already completed a Master in the UK will I not be granted a Tier 4 visa to do another Master (even though it's in a totally different subject)?

Many thanks for your help!

Frontier Mole
Respected Guru

Re: Academic progression - Query

Post by Frontier Mole » Sat Dec 06, 2014 10:42 am

It is highly unlikely you will be granted a tier 4 visa to undertake another Masters. It is not an out and out refusal guarantee but the Uni would have to push very hard to make it stick. Currently the Uni's are very risk adverse and I believe you are not going to find it easy to get a CAS.
The other question will be the five year cap. How many years have you completed as a student to date?

carolinatri
Newly Registered

Post by carolinatri » Sat Dec 06, 2014 7:46 pm

Thank you for the quick reply. It's not good news though :(

The 5-year cap is not a problem because I only had a student visa for 1 year. Currently I have a Tier 2 (until 31 December 2014).