ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

Extension of Tier 4 Visa

Only for UK Student Visas, formerly known as Tier 4 (General) student visa

Moderators: Casa, push, JAJ, ca.funke, Amber, zimba, vinny, Obie, EUsmileWEallsmile, batleykhan, meself2, geriatrix, John, ChetanOjha, archigabe

sweetbutterfly
Newly Registered

Extension of Tier 4 Visa

Post by sweetbutterfly » Mon May 11, 2015 8:46 pm

Hi,

I'm currently studying a 5-year medical degree at an institution in England. I have recently been accepted to a 1-year course at another institution which I intend on undertaking this September, and following this I will go back to medical school to complete my degree.

From what I understand - and correct me if I'm wrong- I will be required to apply for a NEW Tier 4 visa for next year that is linked to this other institution. I will then have to additionally extend the five year visa for my current institution.

I had a look at the visa guidelines it says that if I'm already in the UK I can only EXTEND my visa, and not apply for a new one (https://www.gov.uk/tier-4-general-visa/apply)- does this mean that I will have to leave the country to apply for the new Tier 4 visa for my 1-year course? Or is it possible to extend my visa to be tied to a separate institution just for a year?

Thanks in advance!

sah10406
Diamond Member

Re: Extension of Tier 4 Visa

Post by sah10406 » Tue May 12, 2015 11:31 am

sweetbutterfly wrote:does this mean that I will have to leave the country to apply for the new Tier 4 visa for my 1-year course?