ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

Can my family stay? Help!

USA immigration, green card questions:
Employment based Green Cards | H-1B visas | Family based Visas | Citizenship

Moderators: Casa, push, JAJ, ca.funke, Amber, zimba, vinny, Obie, EUsmileWEallsmile, batleykhan, meself2, geriatrix, John, ChetanOjha, archigabe, Administrator

islfamily
Newly Registered

Can my family stay? Help!

Post by islfamily » Mon Jun 28, 2004 4:16 am

Hi! I got headache and looking for the solution.... :(

I'm a permanent resident of US (a Green Card holder). My application for Naturalization (N400) has been submitted early this year. I got married last month in NY. My wife came from HK together with my two stepdaughters (under 18 yrs old) under B1/B2 visa. They'd like to stay with me in the state for living. Now:

(a) What step should I do to apply my family (wife and kids) to stay permanently in US?

(b) Is it possible for them to stay in US legally while waiting to be permanent residents after submit the application? Some people say it's OK but some not, I'm so confused :?:

I'd be very much appreciated to get a clear direction for my next step. Thank you for your help!

Kayalami
Diamond Member

Post by Kayalami » Mon Jun 28, 2004 9:23 am

AFAIK obtaining Lawful Permanent Residence status through a family based application can be either in the:

1. 'immediate relative' category i.e. the spouse, parents and children unmarried and under 21 of US citizens. They can apply for adjustment of status immediatley.

or