ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

I have H1B and want to get a greencard - How?

USA immigration, green card questions:
Employment based Green Cards | H-1B visas | Family based Visas | Citizenship

Moderators: Casa, push, JAJ, ca.funke, Amber, zimba, vinny, Obie, EUsmileWEallsmile, batleykhan, meself2, geriatrix, John, ChetanOjha, archigabe, Administrator

mzagorski
Newly Registered

I have H1B and want to get a greencard - How?

Post by mzagorski » Sun Apr 04, 2004 6:17 pm

I have a H1B visa... 6 months in USA so far. I'm married to a non-American so my only option as far as I can tell is to get an Employment based Greencard.

As I'm already in USA on H1B, what is the process for me to try and get a greencard?

I work as an Intern Architect (I have a 4 year Bachelors degree) but won't be licensed as an "Architect" until I've worked 2 more years and passed more exams.

Thanks for any advice.

Mike

Filip
Newly Registered

Post by Filip » Tue Apr 06, 2004 1:45 pm

Hi,

first of all, you are not able to apply for a Lawful Permanent Residence through employment by yourself. According to the US Immigration Laws, your employer should "sponsor" your Green Card. You will find the details on Government's web-site:

http://uscis.gov/graphics/services/resi ... oyment.htm

Good luck!

mzagorski
Newly Registered

H1B -> Greencard

Post by mzagorski » Fri Apr 09, 2004 9:20 am

I have already seen that website and it isn't exactly explained clearly.

I am also aware that it is my employer that would have to sponsor my greencard and that isn't a problem.

I'm basically trying to find out:

1) The approx. cost involved in getting a greencard