ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

Work Permit to Tier 2

Only for the UK Skilled Worker visas, formerly known as Tier 2 visa route

Moderators: Casa, push, JAJ, ca.funke, Amber, zimba, vinny, Obie, EUsmileWEallsmile, batleykhan, meself2, geriatrix, John, ChetanOjha, archigabe

mubashir9819

Work Permit to Tier 2

Post by mubashir9819 » Thu Jul 14, 2011 7:09 pm

Hi

I got a WP of 5 years from my employer and i have been working for them for 3 years on WP. Now I have got a better job offer from ANOTHER company and I have to leave UK and apply under tier 2.

My question is, what if my tier 2 application is delayed, say for example it takes 4-5 months to get it approved, and then I come to UK, what will happen to my ILR. Do I need to spend another 5 years for ILR or do I just need to make up 4-5 months on it.

Please I need urgent reply on this.

Thanks

olugboga
Newly Registered

re

Post by olugboga » Fri Jul 15, 2011 1:20 pm

Hi,

I don't know where you got the impression that you need to leave the Uk to apply for Tier2. Since you current leave is for work permit, if you read the guidelines for applying for tier, you can switch incountry if you on some categories including work permit. If i were you, i would not even put in my notice with you current employer untill you COS comes thru and then utill you have applied you rvisa the you can put in your notice, so technically you will not have to loose any das towards your residency.

mubashir9819

Post by mubashir9819 » Fri Jul 15, 2011 5:27 pm

Hi

The below text is written on the UKBA website

You can switch into Tier 2 (General) from the following immigration categories:

any Tier 1 category
Tier 2 (Sportsperson)
Tier 2 (Minister of religion)
any Tier 4 category