ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

Accidental citizenship?

A section for posts relating to applications for Naturalisation or Registration as a British Citizen. Naturalisation

Moderators: Casa, push, JAJ, ca.funke, Amber, zimba, vinny, Obie, EUsmileWEallsmile, batleykhan, meself2, geriatrix, John, ChetanOjha, archigabe

TMX
Newly Registered

Accidental citizenship?

Post by TMX » Tue May 10, 2016 2:46 pm

I've got a bit of a weird issue
I'm currently studying in Birmingham and I entered the country under a Tier 4 student visa on an HKSAR passport.

Last September I decided to renew my BNO which I have held since birth but never used for anything major
I sent HMPO my HKID, BNO, HKSAR, everything they asked for and a few weeks later to my surprise I didn't get my BNO back but I got a full citizenship passport.

Surprised, I called the home office to check that it was ok. The guy on the phone checked through my application and then said that I now have full citizenship and the right of abode in the UK. I've since used my passport to enter through the EU gate, apply for a DBS check and to vote and I've had no issues so I know that my name is on the system as a citizen. However, since my route to citizenship was essentially accidental, I never did the life in the UK test, have a ceremony or get a naturalisation certificate. The only document I have that proves my citizenship is my passport which says citizen on it.