ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

Commons debate on No Recourse to Public Funds - 11th May 2023

Questions and discussions about claiming benefits while living and working in the UK

Moderators: Casa, push, JAJ, ca.funke, Amber, zimba, vinny, Obie, EUsmileWEallsmile, batleykhan, meself2, geriatrix, John, ChetanOjha, archigabe

secret.simon

Post by secret.simon » Mon May 15, 2023 5:45 am

Note that it was a Back-Bench Business motion sponsored by a Labour MP, so it is unlikely to lead to a change in the law.

It is a pity that only a handful of MPs (about 10, including the sponsor, the spokespersons of the SNP, Labour and the minister) spoke in the debate.
I am not a lawyer or immigration advisor. My statements/comments do not constitute legal advice. E&OE. Please do not PM me for advice.

JB007
- thin ice -

Re: Commons debate on No Recourse to Public Funds - 11th May 2023

Post by JB007 » Mon May 15, 2023 1:07 pm

secret.simon wrote:
Mon May 15, 2023 5:45 am

Note that it was a Back-Bench Business motion sponsored by a Labour MP, so it is unlikely to lead to a change in the law.

It is a pity that only a handful of MPs (about 10, including the sponsor, the spokespersons of the SNP, Labour and the minister) spoke in the debate.
I'm not surpised it was only 10 MPs.