ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

Wife is on a Spouse Visa and is Sponsor claiming Universal credit - Coronavirus situation

Questions and discussions about claiming benefits while living and working in the UK

Moderators: Casa, push, JAJ, ca.funke, Amber, zimba, vinny, Obie, EUsmileWEallsmile, batleykhan, meself2, geriatrix, John, ChetanOjha, archigabe

poundworld
Pakistan

Wife is on a Spouse Visa and is Sponsor claiming Universal credit - Coronavirus situation

Post by poundworld » Fri Mar 20, 2020 6:38 pm

I have been self employed since December 2019 as a taxi driver I am a British citizen from birth

My wife is starting self employment in April

I currently receive Universal credit as a single person as my wife is on a spouse visa therefore she is not eligible for public funds

We are both due to start working full time from the new tax year which starts from 5th April 2020

Due to the current situation around business and the Coronavirus, can someone please advise me if it would be ok to keep receiving UC to supplement my income or not? and will this have any effect on my wifes visa?

Will home office take the current situation into account?

Luckyagbomu
Mood:

Re: Wife is on a Spouse Visa and is Sponsor claiming Universal credit - Coronavirus situation is was

Post by Luckyagbomu » Sat Mar 21, 2020 8:40 pm

The exact sticky situation I’m in at the moment, I seriously don’t know what to do.
Wife stopped work due to Coronavirus and I work at the airport you probably know the rest.

She has already completed the 5 years route, can’t apply yet due to this virus as her exams are cancelled.

Some one please help

uk7591
Pakistan

Re: Wife is on a Spouse Visa and is Sponsor claiming Universal credit - Coronavirus situation