ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

Advice on applying for work in Canada from the UK

Employers looking for workers, people looking for employers: Get connected here.

Moderators: Casa, push, JAJ, ca.funke, Amber, zimba, vinny, Obie, EUsmileWEallsmile, batleykhan, meself2, geriatrix, John, ChetanOjha, archigabe, Administrator

angel010980
Newly Registered

Advice on applying for work in Canada from the UK

Post by angel010980 » Thu May 07, 2009 3:44 pm

Hi, I was wondering if anyone could help?

I am currently looking for a job in Canada (I am a UK citizen and living in the UK just now). The plan is to go out on a working VISA initially with a view to applying to premanent residency further down the road. I am a Civil Engineer with 5 years experience in the water and environmental sectors.

Firstly, does anyone have any tips on applying for work in Canada? I have applied through 2 recruitment agencies already and directly to a few companies but I was wondering if one way was better than the other? Secondly, since I am applying from overseas, am I likely to be taken seriously? A friend of mine from the USA told me that when she applied for jobs in the UK she got told where to go a lot of the time and I am worried that will happen to me.

Lastly, does anyone know any Environmental/Engineering firms in Canada that I could try, or even if a recruiter is reading this, can you offer me a job? :wink:

Thanks in advance!

highrisein
Newly Registered

Re: Advice on applying for work in Canada from the UK

Post by highrisein » Thu Jul 24, 2014 11:58 pm

You have to sell your skills to potential employers.
The employer needs to provide you a job offer and get you a labour market opinion from Human Resources of Canada.