ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

Marrying Turkish businessperson before ILR

General UK immigration & work permits; don't post job search or family related topics!

Please use this section of the board if there is no specific section for your query.

Moderators: Casa, push, JAJ, ca.funke, Amber, zimba, vinny, Obie, EUsmileWEallsmile, batleykhan, meself2, geriatrix, John, ChetanOjha, archigabe, Administrator

loro
Newly Registered

Marrying Turkish businessperson before ILR

Post by loro » Thu Mar 21, 2019 1:49 pm

Hi there,

This is my first time posting here, any help would be very much appreciated! Some background details:

Me - UK Citizen (born in Scotland, but living in London)

My partner - Turkish Citizen, living with me in London. He is in the UK on a Turkish Businessperson visa (Ankara Agreement) and does not have ILR yet. He'll have been here for 4 years in January 2020 and under the old scheme would have been able to apply for ILR then, but due to the recent rule change (and subsequent legal challenge which was lost) he will not be able to apply until January 2021.

Our situation: We have been in a relationship for two years, living together for one, and would like to get married and start a family with the intention of living permanently in the UK (most likely Scotland - not sure if this is relevant but including just in case). My understanding is that if we wish to marry we must either a) apply for the family visa, with me being his sponsor or b) not apply for a visa but register notice to marry which will be passed to the Home Office, who may wish to investigate/interview us.