ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

Student visa to spouses visa

Family member & Ancestry immigration; don't post other immigration categories, please!
Marriage | Unmarried Partners | Fiancé/e | Ancestry

Moderators: Casa, push, JAJ, ca.funke, Amber, zimba, vinny, Obie, EUsmileWEallsmile, batleykhan, meself2, geriatrix, John, ChetanOjha, archigabe, Administrator

ninivr91
Newly Registered
India

Student visa to spouses visa

Post by ninivr91 » Wed Aug 31, 2022 8:07 am

Hi everyone,

I am a student doing MSc in the UK. My student visa expires in October 2023. However, I am planning to marry my long-term girlfriend (with who I had been in a distance relationship for about 3-4 years before coming to the UK), a British citizen working and living here in the UK.

I have a few confusion on a spouse visa, ILR and British citizenship.

I heard that I could switch my student visa to a spouse visa (I am getting married end of this year in the UK); however, will it affect my studies when I convert this? Or Do I have to wait until my studies are over? (I don't have any plans to apply for PSW)

How long do I have to wait before I can apply for British citizenship because after the spouse visa, do I have to apply for ILR to become eligible for British citizenship?

I would be so grateful if someone could guide me regarding this.

Thank you
Ninicvr

CR001
Mood:
South Africa

Re: Student visa to spouses visa

Post by CR001 » Wed Aug 31, 2022 8:14 am

I heard that I could switch my student visa to a spouse visa (I am getting married end of this year in the UK); however, will it affect my studies when I convert this? Or Do I have to wait until my studies are over? (I don't have any plans to apply for PSW)