ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

Long Residence ILR advice break period

Only for queries regarding Indefinite Leave to Remain (ILR). Please use the EU Settlement Scheme forum for queries about settled status under Appendix EU

Moderators: Casa, push, JAJ, ca.funke, Amber, zimba, vinny, Obie, EUsmileWEallsmile, batleykhan, meself2, geriatrix, John, ChetanOjha, archigabe

l.reddy1994
Newly Registered
India

Long Residence ILR advice break period

Post by l.reddy1994 » Mon Jul 12, 2021 4:01 pm

I'm currently a Tier 4 student in the UK. I have been in the UK for nearly 9 years now. I initially came to the UK in October 2012.

I am looking to apply for the 10-year long residence visa (ILR) in October 2022.
I have stayed well within the limits of being outside of the country and have not left for more than a collective (150 days) within the 9 years I have been here.
I am currently in my final year of PhD studies, and my current Tier 4 visa is coming to an end in a few months, in October 2021.

I am actively job hunting. However, if I cannot secure a position that offers a work sponsorship within that time frame, would it be possible to leave the country (before my visa has expired) and come back within six months, once I can secure a job or another visa?

I wanted to confirm that having less than a 180-day break between visas, would not be considered a break in my 10-year residence in the UK.

In other words, if I return to India before my current visa expiry and obtain a new visa within 6 months from the end of my current visa, thus returning to the UK within 180 days, would this still allow me to apply for an ILR next year?

Any advice would be helpful, please!

zimba
Mood:

Re: Long Residence ILR advice break period