ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

Non-EEA university researcher and future career prospects in Ireland

Forum to discuss all things Blarney | Ireland immigration

Moderators: Casa, push, JAJ, ca.funke, Amber, zimba, vinny, Obie, EUsmileWEallsmile, batleykhan, meself2, geriatrix, John, ChetanOjha, archigabe, Administrator

miha9759
Newly Registered
Guatemala

Non-EEA university researcher and future career prospects in Ireland

Post by miha9759 » Tue Sep 25, 2018 4:32 pm

Hi everyone,

I'm a Guatemalan citizen and I just got offered a two-year research position (post-doc) at a university in Ireland.
I was told that during my stay as a researcher I will be provided with a Stamp 1.

I was wondering what my immigration status would look like after those two years. I've heard that one could apply for a Stamp 4 after doing two years of research but I don't know much else.

How much would it cost to get Stamp 1/Stamp 4?

After I finish those two years in uni I would like to transition into the private sector. I am a civil engineer and I was surprised to find out that civil engineering is one of the many categories of ineligible employment for foreign workers.

What would I need to do in order to be able to work as a civil engineer in Ireland?

littlerr
Respected Guru
China

Re: Non-EEA university researcher and future career prospects in Ireland

Post by littlerr » Wed Sep 26, 2018 10:15 am

You will be given a Stamp 4 if you work under a valid Hosting Agreement for 2 years.