ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

Permission to Remain - student

Forum to discuss all things Blarney | Ireland immigration

Moderators: Casa, push, JAJ, ca.funke, Amber, zimba, vinny, Obie, EUsmileWEallsmile, batleykhan, meself2, geriatrix, John, ChetanOjha, archigabe, Administrator

k8
Newly Registered

Permission to Remain - student

Post by k8 » Sun Jan 28, 2007 12:54 pm

Hi All,

I am a New Zealand national currently applying for permission to remain in Ireland on the basis of being a student (I’m doing a PhD though a University in Northern Ireland, but working on it through a semi-state organisation based in Dublin). I was initially told by the Department of Justice, General Immigration Division that the applications are taking 20 weeks to process. I’m now being told the applications are taking 30 weeks. By this time I would have been in Ireland for 10 months – most of that time without a status. I have been advised by a few people that I shouldn’t leave Ireland until it is sorted because I may be refused re-entry.

What I would like to know is: Is there a way to speed up the process? I would like to be able to attend conferences without fear of being sent home! Any suggestions for my situation would be appreciated. Thanks.

joesoap101
Member of Standing

Post by joesoap101 » Mon Jan 29, 2007 2:11 pm

As far as Im aware it is not possible to get permission to remain if the university is not based in the republic of Ireland. You would have to apply to stay in the UK as student.

You don't 'apply' to stay as a student in Ireland. You simply take your bank statements, letter of registration and student ID card to the GNIB and thats it. This is why I doubt that they will give you permission to stay in the ROI whilst enrolled at a UK institution.

k8