ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

Supporting Documentation Required for Self-Employed Apps

Use this section for any queries concerning the EU Settlement Scheme, for applicants holding pre-settled and settled status.

Moderators: Casa, push, JAJ, ca.funke, Amber, zimba, vinny, Obie, EUsmileWEallsmile, batleykhan, meself2, geriatrix, John, ChetanOjha, archigabe

wiggsy

Post by wiggsy » Tue Jul 30, 2013 11:54 pm

Asikk wrote:Thanks very much. Is being self-employed a hard nail in the UK? Do normally companies prefer to employ someone on the basis of being self-employed or rather as a worker?
i think it is in the interests of LTD companies to have more employees as it helps their tax status? [but im no tax expert :P]

being a sole trader I know that if i Employ somebody I need Employers Liability insurance etc, which will cost an extra 180/year... I dont need this insurance if I sub contract my work to a self employed freelancer etc...

Different companies have different needs and expectation etc... I have worked for some companies as self employed on temp basis (Take away delivery driver ETC) but this is generally because it benefitted myself and the company... (easier accounting / easier expense deducton for myself...) and they didnt need to produce pay slips / pay tax etc

Just bear in mind, if you only work for one company, HMRChave a thing which states your not self employed but in fact employed... so it is a touchy subject etc...

Asikk
Newly Registered

Post by Asikk » Tue Aug 06, 2013 2:55 pm

Just bear in mind, if you only work for one company, HMRChave a thing which states your not self employed but in fact employed... so it is a touchy subject etc...
Oh, that is good to know. Thanks

wiggsy

Post by wiggsy » Fri Aug 09, 2013 8:01 pm