ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

TRICKY ONE!

Australia: Points Calculator | Skilled Immigration
New Zealand: Points Calculator | work visas

Moderators: Casa, push, JAJ, ca.funke, Amber, zimba, vinny, Obie, EUsmileWEallsmile, batleykhan, meself2, geriatrix, John, ChetanOjha, archigabe, Administrator

beninspain
Newly Registered

TRICKY ONE!

Post by beninspain » Thu May 29, 2014 3:29 pm

Hi there,

I need some advice.

I am an Australian citizen but a resident of Spain/EU. I am a resident on a type of retirement visa called a non lucrative visa which means I can live but not work in Spain and EU.

I want to know for how long I can stay in the UK, my girlfriend lives there and I would like to live there for 2 years but it is very difficult to find information or talk to UK immigration to get info.

Does being a resident automatically mean I can stay in the UK.

Any idea who I can talk to to get information?

Thank you in advance.

Ben

Lucapooka
Respected Guru

Re: TRICKY ONE!

Post by Lucapooka » Fri May 30, 2014 11:00 am

As a visitor you can stay for up to six months. Your EU residence status allows you to live in most of the EU this does not extend to the UK.

http://ec.europa.eu/immigration/tab1.do?subSec=30

"This information applies in 24 of the 27 EU countries, excluding Denmark, Ireland and the United Kingdom."

beninspain
Newly Registered

Re: TRICKY ONE!

Post by beninspain » Sat May 31, 2014 11:06 pm

Hi Lucapooka,

Thanks for the reply, it is good to get some sort of indication as to what the actual situation is. Trying to communicate with the Uk immigration is almost impossible.