ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

British Passport for Child Born in the UK to EEA mother

A section for posts relating to applications for Naturalisation or Registration as a British Citizen. Naturalisation

Moderators: Casa, push, JAJ, ca.funke, Amber, zimba, vinny, Obie, EUsmileWEallsmile, batleykhan, meself2, geriatrix, John, ChetanOjha, archigabe

yousuf2015

British Passport for Child Born in the UK to EEA mother

Post by yousuf2015 » Sun Mar 01, 2015 2:55 pm

Good Morning,

I hope you all are well. I'm an EEA National (Belgian) exercising treaty rights in UK since 2006. I have also got the Blue Registration Certificate/Card in January 2007. Then I studied for 5 years in UK and now I'm self employed. I'm in UK for the last 8 years continues.

God has blessed me with a baby boy last month Jan 2015. I want to apply for my baby British passport. Please advise me the procedure and the form used for applying for British Passport for baby born in UK. Need your advise please.

Thanks a lot in advance..

LilyLalilu

Re: British Passport for Child Born in the UK to EEA mother

Post by LilyLalilu » Sun Mar 01, 2015 3:31 pm

Hi,

EEA citizens automatically acquire Permanent Residence (PR) after 5 years of exercising treaty rights.

If your son was born in the UK after you acquired PR (which seems to be the case as you say that you were exercising treaty rights for 5 continuous years prior to your son's birth), he is automatically British and you can apply directly for a passport and enclose proof of exercising treaty rights for 5 years with the application.
The passport application form can be obtained at any post office or you can fill in a form online which will then be sent to you to complete and sign.