ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

Extra income

Only for the UK Skilled Worker visas, formerly known as Tier 2 visa route

Moderators: Casa, push, JAJ, ca.funke, Amber, zimba, vinny, Obie, EUsmileWEallsmile, batleykhan, meself2, geriatrix, John, ChetanOjha, archigabe

execneo
Newly Registered

Extra income

Post by execneo » Fri Jun 03, 2016 6:19 pm

Hello,
I am currently on Tier 2 General Visa having a full time job with my sponsor. I am a software developer. Last year, I made a web site and mobile applications for a friend's company and he paid me from his company's account via direct bank transfers.
Now since I have to file tax this year cause of this extra income which is above £10k, I thought of registering as a sole trader and declaring it. However, after I went through this forums, it seems I cannot register as a sole trader or a private limited company on a tier 2 visa. My question is, how do I declare this income to the HMRC?

Thanks

Frontier Mole
Respected Guru

Re: Extra income

Post by Frontier Mole » Fri Jun 03, 2016 10:05 pm

This is a no win situation. You have breached your Tier2 conditions by undertaking self employment. So you are now in a position where if you declare your additional earnings to HMRC you potentially bring yourself to the notice of UKVI.
At the other side of the equation if you don't declare the earnings you fall foul of HMRC which leads to the same outcome if the HO find out.

There is no simple solution that can legally solve both scenarios.

paradoxical
Mood:
Pakistan

Post by paradoxical » Fri Jun 03, 2016 10:23 pm