ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

Intl student in the UK wanting to work in the US on J-1 visa

USA immigration, green card questions:
Employment based Green Cards | H-1B visas | Family based Visas | Citizenship

Moderators: Casa, push, JAJ, ca.funke, Amber, zimba, vinny, Obie, EUsmileWEallsmile, batleykhan, meself2, geriatrix, John, ChetanOjha, archigabe, Administrator

tabish
Newly Registered

Intl student in the UK wanting to work in the US on J-1 visa

Post by tabish » Wed Feb 17, 2016 5:03 pm

Hi guys, new here, felt the forums here could help me as my university immigration advisor, GOV UK telephone advisors, and everyone else I've contacted have all given me different answers.

I'm currently an international student in the UK (Tier 4). I am on a 4-year course (a "sandwich" course), which consists of 2 years of study, a year of working or studying abroad (going overseas is necessary due to the requirements of my degree), and the final year consisting of coming back to the UK to finish my studies and get my degree.

However, from all parties I've spoken to, they have confirmed that international students, on a placement degree in the UK (4 years), are only given a CAS (and hence visa) valid for 3 years. Apparently this is because the status/nature of my 4th year is never actually "confirmed" until I secure a study or work placement. Can someone confirm this? It's outrageous and a bit of a hassle as I can't GET MY DEGREE IN THE FIRST PLACE without completing all 4 years, but regardless.. I'm facing a couple of issues with obtaining visas to other countries because of this mess.