ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

Travelling after final exams

Only for UK Student Visas, formerly known as Tier 4 (General) student visa

Moderators: Casa, push, JAJ, ca.funke, Amber, zimba, vinny, Obie, EUsmileWEallsmile, batleykhan, meself2, geriatrix, John, ChetanOjha, archigabe

bharatbajaj27
Newly Registered

Travelling after final exams

Post by bharatbajaj27 » Fri Jul 08, 2016 4:41 pm

Shadyoakdrive wrote:Hi Everyone,

I am a final year student at a university in the UK. My tier 4 visa expires at the end of October.
I have been lucky enough to secure a graduate scheme with a tier 2 sponsor that will commence sometime in September.
As my exams would be done by early June, I would definitely want to travel around Europe after the exams.(Probably come back around early July)

However, after reading around from some university websites such as:
http://www.kcl.ac.uk/campuslife/service ... ravel.aspx
http://www.city.ac.uk/international/int ... graduation

it seems that I might not be allowed to come back into the UK with my Tier 4 visa. As I am a resident of a non-visa country, I could still come back to the Uk for 6 weeks. However, I would need to be on my Tier 4 visa when I apply for the Tier 2 conversion.
Does anyone know how likely it is for me to face issues at immigration?

Edit: I also plan to postpone my Graduation ceremony to December so I might not be able to get the letter from my uni saying that I will attend the ceremony in July

Thanks!
Hi,

Looks like I am in the exact same situation now. My course ends in Sept., I have received a job offer for a job to start in Dec, and I want to travel in the period between that.