ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

Application for EAA spouse of UK citizen - no CSI

Use this section for any queries concerning the EU Settlement Scheme, for applicants holding pre-settled and settled status.

Moderators: Casa, push, JAJ, ca.funke, Amber, zimba, vinny, Obie, EUsmileWEallsmile, batleykhan, meself2, geriatrix, John, ChetanOjha, archigabe

SarahM1972
Newly Registered

Application for EAA spouse of UK citizen - no CSI

Post by SarahM1972 » Mon Aug 01, 2016 8:28 am

Ok... sorry if I'm writing here.. first time posting...
If you need me to create a new thread, please advise.

It seems I have a similar to the OP's wife, probably even bigger....

Been here 7 years, married with a British citizen since 2012. I've been a student since 2012 and NEVER had a CSI. I am graduating in 2017 (changed course from a Scotland-based one to an English one in 2013 and had to start all over again from level 1); I only worked part-time for two years when I arrived to Scotland but never worked much later on. Not only I always had EHIC from my home country, but I have had a UK EHIC card and my husband private health's insurance also covers me.
I was never told about having a CSI at all, since when I queried about at my original university they told me it wasn't necessary because I was into NHS already as a EU citizen.

Question.... Is this CSI regulation a new one that became retroactive or I've assumed wrong all these years? Because I've been browsing the UK naturalisation papers from 2013 and there was no mention of this 3 years ago. I've also passed the Life in the UK test in 2014 and nobody told me anything even before that (CAB included).