ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

Employment record as a full time PhD student?

A section for posts relating to applications for Naturalisation or Registration as a British Citizen. Naturalisation

Moderators: Casa, push, JAJ, ca.funke, Amber, zimba, vinny, Obie, EUsmileWEallsmile, batleykhan, meself2, geriatrix, John, ChetanOjha, archigabe

Intrepid V

Employment record as a full time PhD student?

Post by Intrepid V » Mon Aug 08, 2016 9:16 pm

Hello, on the naturalisation application form, I have to state my employment record for the last 10 years.

I have been in full time higher / further education since 2005.

For the first 5 years of that 10 year period, I have been a full time undergraduate student, with no employment.

Then for the last 6 years, I have been a full time, fully funded, UK PhD student (twice, since my first PhD did not work out and I started again at another university). During my PhD studies, I have done sporadic paid demonstrating work (i.e. teaching / marking homework for undergrads) in my department. I have not paid any tax/NI contributions on this since the income was less than £10,000 per year (or whatever exact figure is required for taxable income). I don't have any P45/P60 forms, or anything like that. I have not done any other paid work.

I have recently contacted administration both at my current and ex-university, they provided me with letters stating that I am / was a a full time PhD student in receipt of a tax-free stipend, and that all my income (from stipend and demonstrating work) is tax free. To my knowledge, that's all the formal paperwork I am able to obtain.

1. Should I list these universities as my "employers"? (Although I am a full time postgraduate student there)