ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

Tax Implications for Art Exhibit

Only for the UK Skilled Worker visas, formerly known as Tier 2 visa route

Moderators: Casa, push, JAJ, ca.funke, Amber, zimba, vinny, Obie, EUsmileWEallsmile, batleykhan, meself2, geriatrix, John, ChetanOjha, archigabe

Minnesota3
Newly Registered

Tax Implications for Art Exhibit

Post by Minnesota3 » Thu Oct 13, 2016 11:49 am

Hi there,

I am a hobby artist (e.g. I enjoy it but have never made money from it). I've been asked to show my work at a local gallery, where they they would be for sale.

I'm trying to figure out what this means from a tax/Tier 2 visa perspective, any advice would be appreciated!

Thoughts/considerations:

1. I'm unlikely to make much - if any - profit, after printing, framing... maybe £500 absolute maximum.
2. My spouse (married) is a UK citizen - could I avoid implications if any profits went to them instead, if they were essentially selling my photos with my permission?
3. If the above fail, would donating any profits to a charity be an option?

It seems like a really small amount of *potential* profit to be concerned, but I don't want to get myself into any hot water without meaning to...

CR001
Mood:
South Africa

Re: Tax Implications for Art Exhibit

Post by CR001 » Thu Oct 13, 2016 12:34 pm

You cannot be self employed, in any capacity. Any income has to be declared to HMRC.

This problem wouldn't exist if you were on a spouse settlement visa though.
Char (CR001 not Casa)
In life you cannot press the Backspace button!!
Please DO NOT send me a PM for immigration advice. I reserve the right to ignore the PM and not respond.

Minnesota3
Newly Registered

Post by Minnesota3 » Thu Oct 13, 2016 3:01 pm