ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

Staying with EU spouse after tourist visa expires?

Immigration to European countries, don't post UK or Ireland related topics!

Moderators: Casa, push, JAJ, ca.funke, Amber, zimba, vinny, Obie, EUsmileWEallsmile, batleykhan, meself2, geriatrix, John, ChetanOjha, archigabe, Administrator

clareR
Newly Registered

Staying with EU spouse after tourist visa expires?

Post by clareR » Mon Jan 02, 2017 6:12 pm

I am a British Citizen and planning to travel to Spain soon. I work as a freelancer and want to live and work in Spain. My husband is an Indian citizen and we plan to apply for a schengen tourist visa for him to travel with me to Spain. I want to exercise my EU/EEA treaty rights freedom of movement in Spain under Directive 2004/38/EC of the European Parliament.

The thing is, once we get to the EU, how can I exercise my right to be with my spouse in Spain once his 90 day tourist visa expires? Does he have to keep returning to India to get new tourist visas, or is there some way that once we are there, he can simply apply for some kind of permit to stay with me, whilst i work there.

secret.simon

Re: Staying with EU spouse after tourist visa expires?

Post by secret.simon » Mon Jan 02, 2017 6:51 pm

Once your husband is with you in Spain, contact the local Immigration Office to apply for a Residence Card under EU law. That should be valid for 5 years.

If you exercise treaty rights in Spain for five years, your husband would automatically acquire permanent residency in Spain at the end of that period.
I am not a lawyer or immigration advisor. My statements/comments do not constitute legal advice. E&OE. Please do not PM me for advice.

noajthan

Post by noajthan » Mon Jan 02, 2017 7:06 pm