ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

Naturalisation questions

A section for posts relating to applications for Naturalisation or Registration as a British Citizen. Naturalisation

Moderators: Casa, push, JAJ, ca.funke, Amber, zimba, vinny, Obie, EUsmileWEallsmile, batleykhan, meself2, geriatrix, John, ChetanOjha, archigabe

nickcooluz
Newly Registered

Naturalisation questions

Post by nickcooluz » Thu Feb 23, 2017 10:32 am

I have been a resident in UK for over 10 years with less than 95 days outside UK in last 5 years. I hold a indefinite stay in UK card since august 19-08-2015. I have a BSc and MSc degrees from one of the well know universities in England and also hold a valid Life in uk pass certificate. I was wondering if anyone can advice if I am capable of applying for citizenship and what documents I will need to send to HO.
Also from looking on the forum I noticed that some people applied for passport a year before they got the naturalization certificate? How does that work? Just a bit confused and will appreciate any advice. Thanks in advance.

CR001
Mood:
South Africa

Re: Naturalisation questions

Post by CR001 » Thu Feb 23, 2017 10:36 am

If you were physically present in the UK exactly 5 years ago on the same date you apply and meet all the other requirements, then yes you can apply.

Read form AN and the AN guidance notes.

There is a joint citizenship and passport scheme but you can only apply for it through NCS at the council. NCS charge a small fee for this service.
Char (CR001 not Casa)
In life you cannot press the Backspace button!!
Please DO NOT send me a PM for immigration advice. I reserve the right to ignore the PM and not respond.

nickcooluz
Newly Registered

Post by nickcooluz » Thu Feb 23, 2017 10:52 am