ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

Failure to disclose nationality

A section for posts relating to applications for Naturalisation or Registration as a British Citizen. Naturalisation

Moderators: Casa, push, JAJ, ca.funke, Amber, zimba, vinny, Obie, EUsmileWEallsmile, batleykhan, meself2, geriatrix, John, ChetanOjha, archigabe

embaras
Newly Registered

Failure to disclose nationality

Post by embaras » Wed Mar 15, 2017 10:32 am

I have an embarrassing situation and hope someone can advise me on what I can do to rectify it.

I came to the UK 10.5 years ago as a student on my Russian passport. I also held Moldovan passport, but at the time of application for visa and subsequent extensions I never mentioned this. I never intended to stay initially, and then was worried about disclosing of fear that my visa extension will be refused.

About 5 years ago I qualified to get Romanian passport (long story short, it became possible due to my ancestry and some legislation changes in Romania). I notified UKBA about this and got my Blue Card. Recently I applied and received my PR. Again, in these applications I never mentioned my Moldovan nationality.

Now I am considering applying for Naturalisation. I have married in the Embassy of Moldova in London and my husband has been naturalised a year ago. So I qualify to apply for Naturalisation straight away.
My question is: should I disclose my Moldovan nationality? I am worried UKBA will see my Moldovan Marriage Certificate and ask if I am a Moldovan national. I would also need to disclose my parents’ nationalities, which include Moldovan. Thank you for your help

alterhase58
Germany

Re: Failure to disclose nationality

Post by alterhase58 » Wed Mar 15, 2017 11:01 am

Section 7 Declaration on Form AN: