ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

Tier 1 Ent - PAYE amendment query

Only for UK Tier 1 (Entrepreneur) points system. This route is now closed to new applicants.

Moderators: Casa, push, JAJ, ca.funke, Amber, zimba, vinny, Obie, EUsmileWEallsmile, batleykhan, meself2, geriatrix, John, ChetanOjha, archigabe

f.namxe
Newly Registered

Tier 1 Ent - PAYE amendment query

Post by f.namxe » Thu Oct 19, 2017 4:31 pm

Hello,

I applied for my Tier 1 Ent extension in March 2017 having entered the route Mar 2014. I have been running a business since June 2015 although set up RTI in October 2014 for my salary. I had employees since Sept 2015 and submitted RTI monthly. In Sept 2016, we detected two employees had been left on the payroll for about 3 months after leaving so we kept on submitting their RTI and paying their taxes. I contacted my accountant about this and he amended our PAYE submissions in January 2017. Unfortunately during the period from Sept 16 to Jan 17, we did not make any PAYE payments on advise from the accountant as he wanted to rectify the issues earlier identified from the beginning of the tax year.
Anyway, long story short, we had a significant tax bill crystallise in Jan 17 because of the months of PAYE owed and the accountant adding employee expenses to salaries and using this as the basis for PAYE calculation. This latter error (salaries+expenses) has not been amended but i have been on a payment plan with HMRC to pay off the accrued PAYE bill and this 75% paid off.
I did this because my visa extension was due in March and didn't want any issues with HMRC.