ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

Tier 4 to Tier 2 - switching during continuous leave

Only for the UK Skilled Worker visas, formerly known as Tier 2 visa route

Moderators: Casa, push, JAJ, ca.funke, Amber, zimba, vinny, Obie, EUsmileWEallsmile, batleykhan, meself2, geriatrix, John, ChetanOjha, archigabe

emirose
Newly Registered
Ukraine

Tier 4 to Tier 2 - switching during continuous leave

Post by emirose » Wed Nov 15, 2017 9:43 pm

Hello everyone!

I have some questions about switching from Tier 4 to Tier 2.

I'm currently studying a professional qualification course while holding a Tier 4 student visa. I've recently received a job offer to start after completion of my current course. According to the Tier 2 Policy Guidance, professional qualifications cannot be used to switch into Tier 2. However, during my previous Tier 4 leave, I have completed and been awarded a UK university degree.

The Tier 2 Policy Guidance states that:
- “You must have successfully completed and passed a UK recognised bachelor’s or master’s degree... during your current period of leave or a period of continuous leave which includes your last grant of leave”

My questions are:
1. Since there's no gap time between my previous and current Tier 4 visas (making them a period of continuous leave?), I assume I can apply to switch into Tier 2 based on my previous degree, despite the ineligibility of my current professional qualification course?

2. If yes, I assume I wouldn't have to wait after I complete my current course to make the application, as long as I can provide the degree certificate of my completed degree?